A Night at the Paint Booth

There is nothing more frustrating to me than having project stack up like cord-wood on my workbench.  I’ve spoken about the limitations of not having a paint booth in my apartment, and being limited to painting on the balcony at certain points of the year (i.e. mid January and below zero temperatures with freezing rain are bad), but its a constant irritation.  Especially as it means that sometimes when I have time and motivation to sit at the workbench and do something, there is nothing I can do other than start another project.  If you looked at how many different projects I have in some state of incompletion, you’d think I had issues, but often its things reach a point where progress is impossible without spray painting!  That said, I am very lucky to have access to an alternative workshop where I can go and paint.  The problem with that, is to make it worth while, I need to have a lot of projects stacked up so I can paint a bunch of things to let me move on multiple projects again.  There is not a lot of reward in packing up, and driving to the alternate shop to do one little paint job or touch up.  It would take five times as long to pack, drive, unpack, repack, drive home and unpack as the actual paint task.

Last week, I had finally reached the tipping point in terms of volume.  So on the weekend I packed up a laundry list of projects to do various paint projects on, and took a trip to my alternative workshop on Monday evening.

In one session I was able to paint the following projects that have been stacking up on my desk waiting for painting to be able to move forward:

It feels good to make so much progress in one evening on so many projects.  I still need more airbrush time, for example on Talyllyn to spray the gloss black and red buffers, but to mask the model, the paint needs to cure for a few days until I can put tape on with a minimal risk of pulling off the paint I just applied.  In the meantime, I can make progress on other aspects of different projects until the next trip down to the paint shop (which will be sooner than later as I want to get Talyllyn done as I need a working narrow gauge locomotive for building a mini-layout/diorama/display!).

As always, make sure you use proper safety gear.  Even in a well ventilated shop environment, gloves and a mask when using spray cans or an airbrush are essential.  There’s no use advancing a project if you take years off your life breathing in paint particles!!

Leave a Reply

