Nibbling away at Windows

I picked up a new tool back in February at the Barrie-Allandale Train Show, a “Nibbler”, a tool designed for cutting out holes or curved shapes inside material.  I knew I would need this for the 587 Yonge Street project to cut out the windows.

IMGP9075RawConv.jpgA Nibbler, the small cutting blade at the left cuts a rectangular segment away from plastic or wood material.

Using the nibbler, I am currently cutting out windows for the building, first in blank styrene for the inner wall, then in brick sheet for the exterior walls.  Its a slow process, but it makes nice clean square openings (*once you learn how to use it, some of my cuts as you can see in the pictures are less than beautiful!).

Process to cut openings with then Nibbler, mark windows, drill pilot holes, drill 3/8″ holes for the nibbler blade.  Cut out the larger opening, and fit the windows into the opening.

I have got the windows on both walls that have them cut out, the process to cut the window openings in the exterior Brick that need to be much closer to perfect fits is taking a significantly longer time than the one evening it took to get used to the tool and cut the first batch of windows out.  I’m thinking I over-complicated things with the amount of detail in my 3D printed windows, as the cuts to the brick sheet that need to fit tight to the windows are taking a very long time.  I’ve got 5 windows done, only 15 more windows, a door, and a vent to go…at least it will fill a bunch of nights in the next couple of weeks as I slowly work my way though cutting out the windows to make sure it looks good when finished.

IMGP9069RawConv3D Printed Sprue of Windows and Doors for 587 Yonge Street.
2 thoughts on “Nibbling away at Windows

  1. This is a great tool – one that changed the way I build structures.
    I tend to nibble close to the line, without going over, then file the window opening to the final shape. The nibbler does a great job of removing most of the material, so the filing doesn’t take that long.
    Cheers!
    – Trevor (Port Rowan in 1:64)

  2. I agree completely having now used the tool a bunch, it’s definitely easier to cut a bit short and finish with a file or sanding stick to shape. Either way, its a vast improvement over trying to cut out openings in styrene or other material with a metal ruler and knife, i messed up the windows a lot less with the nibbler than past efforts with a knife.

    Stephen

Leave a Reply

