Tuesday Train #63

IMGP9493RawConv.jpgThe Canadian Pacific Railway is officially afraid of the DayStar, at least in the Toronto Area.  Whenever I get the chance to go out railfanning, I never go out by Canadian Pacific Tracks, when I do, I never see anything moving if the sun is out.  I spent 5 hours a couple of weeks ago outside Newcastle Ontario, where the CPR and CNR run right beside each other.  I got 1 CN Freight, 7 VIA Rail Passenger Trains on the CN, and a CPR Maintenance of Way Pickup Truck impersonating a train.  This is the most action I’ve seen on the CPR when I’m out railfanning in years.  Normally I see CPR freights moving from inside the Loblaws I shop at on Dundas Street West in the evening when its dark and I don’t have a camera.  The signal inspectors in the car pulled up to the level crossing where I was, manually activated the crossing lights to make sure they worked, turned them off, and reversed back to whence they came.  At least i got a picture of something that says “Canadian Pacific” on it?

2 thoughts on “Tuesday Train #63

  1. I laughed as I read your post.

    During the summer of 2000 I lived in Bowmanville, Ontario. Running right through town was the CP main. Never once that summer did I catch a CP train. I didn’t mind the walk over to the Kingston Sub and would regularly walk down to the Port Darlington Road crossing where I could easily predict a daily parade of CN and VIA.

    I spent a lot of time walking, waiting, and listening for CP but all I saw was track and all I heard were the sounds of summer sans CP.

    Chris

  2. I’m glad i could add some humour to your day Chris!! I was most definitely trying to find the humour in writing it, but my point still stands. The Canadian Pacific Railway in the Greater Toronto Area is afraid of the sun!!

    Stephen

Leave a Reply

